Art of the Car Concours 2007

The  Art of the Car Concours® made its debut in 2007 taking place on the KCAI campus from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday, May 5, 2007. It showcased 90 vintage, classic and special cars belonging to Kansas City and Midwest area collectors.

Thousands of spectators attended the event and voted for their top five favorite cars.

Proceeds from the day went toward the college's scholarship fund.

People's Choice award winners

At the end of the concours, organizer Marshall V. Miller announced the "People's Choice" award winners.

First Place

1921 Daniels D-19,  owned by Jim Daniels.

Second place

1931 Studebaker Four Seasons Roadster, owned by Don and David Armacost.

Third place

1932 Pierce Arrow Model 54 Convertible Coupe, owned by John Dudley Holden.

Fourth place

1903 Curved Dash Oldsmobile, owned by James T. "Tim" Wiglesworth.

Fifth place

1965 Porsche 904 GTS, owned by Robert L. Serra.

Each award recipient received a trophy and a necktie created by students in the KCAI fiber department.

"You can make the case that fine automobiles are an art form, and we want our students, faculty, alumni and the public to be exposed to the 'best' in Kansas City," said Kathleen Collins, president of KCAI. "The balloting and awards process helped ensure that this exposure to vehicle art was interactive, fun and interesting for everyone."

As the day of the concours approached, Miller had to continually revise his forecast for the number of cars that would be on view: initially, he hoped for 40 cars, then he upgraded the forecast to 60 cars, and by May 5, entries topped the 90-car mark as word about the concours got out and car owners called to ask if they could enter their vehicles. Miller showed several of his own cars.

Cars on display

Cars on view at the 2007 event included a 1917 Detroit Electric; 1929 Rolls Royce Phantom I; 1930 Cord L29 Convertible Coupe; 1931 Studebaker Four Seasons Roadster; 1932 Pierce Arrow Model 54 Convertible Coupe; 1933 Rolls Royce; 1937 Riley Adelphi; 1938 Ford Coupe - Rod; 1938 MG TA; 1939 Lincoln Zephyr 4-door Convertible; 1941 Nash Convertible; 1948 Lincoln Continental Convertible; 1954 Packard Convertible; 1955 Austin Healy 100M; 1957 Isetta 300 Convertible; 1958 AC Aceca; 1959 Aston Martin DBMK III; 1960 Cadillac El Dorado Convertible; 1964 Shelby American Cobra; 1965 Porsche 904 GTS; 1967 Pontiac GTO Convertible; 1969 Chevrolet Camero; and many more.